Many people continue to use cars and motorcycles even though they know that they are bad for the environment. Why is this? What can be done to reduce the use of these vehicles?

The usage of private vehicles that emit harmful gases into the environment has become an increasingly pertinent subject for debate in many countries. This trend is mainly due to their convenience and the perception of wealth associated with luxury means of transport. However, there are a range of measures that could be taken to limit the over-reliance on these vehicles. There are clear factors explaining why many prefer driving private vehicles. The first reason is that using these modes of transportation is more convenient than using public transportation or cycling. Although harmful exhaust fumes from cars or motorbikes can increase air pollution, these vehicles provide greater flexibility, which means their owners do not have to rely on the schedule of public transport systems, and they can avoid traffic congestions with some foresight. Furthermore, owning a luxury car or motorbike is often considered to be a sign of wealth and pride in many societies. For example, many people in Asian cultures, such as China and Vietnam work diligently and save money so that they can afford one. This is because they have been deeply influenced by years of advertisements, resulting in the formation of a subconscious belief that successful and famous individuals with luxury cars are highly respected. However, there are several ways to tackle the issue of over-reliance on private cars and motorbikes. Firstly, governments must impose heavy taxes on buying new vehicles. If their prices were much higher, it would dissuade citizens to purchase one, which, consequently, may lead to reduced levels of air pollution. In the long term, schools may be able to launch educational campaigns about the harmful influences of an overreliance on fossil fuels and private vehicles. Only when citizens' awareness is raised, will they voluntarily turn to more environmental-friendly modes of transportation. Although I concede that this solution may require many years to take hold, it is undoubtedly the best and most cost-effective approach. In conclusion, the continued reliance on private vehicles results from both their flexibility and the owners' personal self-image. Only when governments can establish a stricter tax system as well as carry out more aggressive campaigns to raise the awareness of their citizens, will this situation be remedied.