The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000, there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

When cars were new and rare, they were the popular means of transportation, due to the advantages they could offer. However,due to the overcrowding of cities, cars might not be the quickest means to reach places anymore. The scope of this essay is to see the possible means of possible alternatives to commute and how regulations to limit the disadvantages of the extensive use of cars. To a great extent, I agree with recommending the different mode of transportation and support local regulations as guidelines. Essentially, Cars have improved privacy and independence while commuting on a daily basis. Cars made it easier for people to driving as per their requirements. For people who needs to travel for effort, a quicker commute is a blessing. The amount of work that can be done due to ease of travel improves individual productivity.I have known people who are dependent on their cars to an extent that easily walkable distance is still covered with the ar. Additionally, the population concentration has occurred in cities. This lead to an increase in traffic and difficulty in managing time. With excessive overcrowding, it would be advisable to use quicker and environmentally friendly means of alternative transportation. Moreover, Cars have adversely affected the environment due to pollution and lead the world to the possible scarcity of oil for future generations. Globally, Many large cities have switched to short-distance trains or metros for ease. These modes are especially popular in cities which connects business districts to residential areas. For the longer distances, these rail tracks can be built underground and as these are managed by the government or local authority, overcrowding will not be a difficulty. The longer distance can be converted in a shorter time and will surely prove to be a suitable and favourable different over private cars. A few people who need navigation for their job will be able to commute quicker and overcrowding on the roads can be limited. I came across a regulation in Sydney regarding similar recommendations on specific festival days about the limited or restricted ride. Regulations help in managing traffic better. In summary, Cars were very convenient when transport was quicker. however,due to the overuse of private cars, the eans of transport is no longer convenient or time-saving. In my opinion, I agree to a large extent in thinking, if one does not need to commute by cars for the ob, should have some guidelines in the form of regulation to make traffic convenient whenever needed. Realistically, the cars are expected to make driving easy, in overpopulated cities if it is making commute difficult different means are advisable and if needed international regulations should be made to simplify life.