car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. how to do you think this statement is? what measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars.

These days owning a car is essential. For more than a decade, more people have been purchasing cars which have ultimately resulted in huge transit congestion. I truly agree with this fact. Policymakers have to handle this situation by improving public transportation and impose a new policy for vehicle purchase. In this modern era, people can afford to own a car for transportation. With the rise of their income and the reduced cost of cars, automobile ownership is becoming more and more affordable. As a result, roads are packed with cars and transport are becoming unbearable. Take Jakarta as an example. During peak hours, a person can take 2 hours just to travel for a distance of 10 kilometres. Not mentioning the number of on-road accidents occurring during those rush hours. The authority needs to implement strict laws to hinder people from buying cars. For example, the Singapore authority has a policy called COE, Certificate of Entitlement, an extra payment for owning a vehicle. Every owner needs to purchase the COE from the Land Transport Authority before driving their vehicle on the limited roads of the country. As a result, the country succeeded in reducing the trend of ownership within its citizen. In addition, the nation needs to improve the public transportation system such as the subways, buses and trams within the cities. This not only will encourage commuters to commute together but will also reduce the burden of the oil industry due to the decreased consumption. To conclude, everyone needs to work together with the authority to resolve this problem and with the proper leadership and strategy, we are able to make the cities traffic jam-free.