Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workspace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

A university degree is essential in the modern workplace, since without it young people struggle to find meaningful industry. Some people thus contend that universities ought to equip their students with marketable skills and education. Others argue that theoretical ability is just as valuable. I personally believe that a balanced curriculum, with both abstract and practical philosophy, is ideal. As the global population grows, competition for employment increases accordingly. Consequently, in order to succeed in modern jobs markets, applicants need to possess skills that set them apart and makes them attractive to employers, such as computing, training, and other skills. Moreover, as employment environment change rapidly, and taking into account that young people spend a considerable amount of time in school, they cannot afford to fall behind and miss opportunities. Thus, these academic institutions have a duty to graduate pupils with the best tools to enter the workforce right away. Nevertheless, universities have a long tradition of providing critical thinking skills, which allow for innovation and adaptability in the aforementioned evolving workplace. In other words, students who learn to think in abstract ways can manipulate their obsolete skills into relevant ones suited to new market demands. To illustrate, consider a philosophy major. This person surely has very good critical thinking skills and creativity; moreover, he knows how to communicate well. Consequently, this person can become an influential blogger, copywriter, or news contributor. Thus, his theoretical ability allows him to apply his abilities to practical matters. In conclusion, the main purpose of higher education is to prepare students for a life in which career success is vital. In order to do this, a university should teach students practical skills to find i mmediate task and the theoretical skills necessary to adapt to changing performance environments.