More and more young people use the Internet to socialise. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the years gone by, humanity has spent years to discover a new landmass, let alone have a way to communicate remotely. However now, We can easily speak to a person who is sitting on the other side of the earth, all thanks to I nternet. The world has come so close that there is no physical interaction required to actually socialize. the entire generation is now in a way switched to the internet for interacting with one another as it is easy, effortless, extremely fast and has removed any restriction on the physical proximity. We have witnessed one of the biggest pandemics the world has ever seen and during this time we were all put inside the confined spaces of our houses. Internet stepped up during this crisis and kept the entire world connected. If people would have been locked in their house, without i nternet, it would have driven them absolutely mad with no-one to communicate with as it is very well known that man is a social animal. Apart from this crisis, even if we look at normal circumstances, we cannot deny the importance of socializing through the internet as it opens up the entire world to us and brings all the knowledge to our feet. However, with all the benefits that social interaction via worldwide web provide, the major issue that has come up in the past few years is the dependency that it creates. A majority of young people use the world wide web as the priority platform for interaction and one can go as far as to call them addicted to social media. So much so that the mental health of the entire generation is in jeopardy. Social Media is now a race where everyone shows off how good their life is when compared to others and mind you, it does not matter even if your life over media is not even close to your real life as long as you are winning the race. Internet is a tool which facilitates humans with so much power that it brings the entire world in on their fingers but overuse of the same tool leads to long-lasting disasters. Hence, more young people switching to i nternet to socialize can both be a positive and negative development. Positive, if we use it in the right manner but negative if we forget its actual purpose and suck ourselves into the hole called 'social media approval'.