Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with, What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys.

Toys play a vital role in the development of children. Buying toys is an increasingly popular trend and every now and then parents buy toys resulting in a large number of toys with children. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. There are numerous advantages to having a lot of toys. Firstly children learn to self-educate themselves. For instance, for working parents, it is hard to devote too much time to children; in such cases children can remain engaged with toys and try to learn on their own and stay in a calmer mood. In addition to learning, children are not addicted to mobile phones which is the major issue in today's world causing stressed eyes and minds. For example, a recent article in ¨Times of India¨ states that in 2018, nearly 70 per cent of Indian children in big cities of India were addicted to mobile phones and complained about eye-related problems. In contrast to advantages, there are many disadvantages also for having a wide choice of toys. Children having a wide variety of toys are often anti-social and are reluctant to play outdoor games which makes them physically inactive. These children find it difficult to engage socially. For instance, they are possessive of their toys and do not believe in sharing them with others, in such manner, they value materialistic things more than their friends. Furthermore, such kids want to play with toys sitting at one place and are, therefore, deprived of physical activities and hence have dull physical health. In conclusion, this essay discussed both the advantages and disadvantages of children having a large pile of toys. While there are benefits of having enormous toys, the drawbacks should not be overlooked.