In many workplaces, online communication is becoming more common than face to face interaction. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In many workplaces, online communication is becoming more common than face to face interaction. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Communication via online platforms has been increasingly preferred by many people in workplaces rather than direct conversation. This essay will explain why the advantages of online communication can outweigh its drawbacks. On the one hand, there are several disadvantages that users may be likely to suffer once virtual communication has been more prevalent in workplaces. The first one is that there is a risk of unexpected disconnection when we are carrying an online meeting. This results in disrupted communication and reduces the effectiveness of the meeting. Another problem is that private privacy could be invaded when we make communication online. For example, our emails or message could be stored and read without our own permission for commercial purposes such as advertising. Otherwise, important files could be hacked from emails between enterprises that could lead to economic losts losses. However, with the use of technology advancement to fasten, maintain and secure the internet connection, these problems could no longer be our concern. On the other hand, it is beneficial for the popularity of online communication as making online meetings is more convenient and efficient than face-to-face ones. This is not only about the matter of distance but also the time and cost of travelling when students studying abroad, for example, return home to see their parents while they can simply make a video call on their phone. Another example is that many international corporations are making use of the Internet for their work such as emails or video meetings to save a lot of money paying for their staff travelling abroad. In conclusion, people when communicating online might have to face the problems of the unstable internet connection or the threats of losing privacy. Since these problems could be handled sooner or later, the benefit of convenience and efficiency from online communication are greater than the disadvantages.