In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Living in the modern world these days is not easy. Many people are told to work hard and thus they are able to succeed in their lives, even younger children, they are told to do so. By doing this, there will be both benefits and drawbacks that bring to children's lives. In the following paragraphs, both viewpoints will be discussed in detail. To begin with, hard-working is one of the most imperative personalities of successful individuals. It might be beneficial for children to learn this aspect while they are young as toddlers. If the parents teach their offspring properly about trying hard in every attempt, they would be grown up as a conscientious and dependable person. Moreover, if any problems occur, especially work life or marriage issues, they are able, of course, to cope with these problems. On the other hand, the mentioned statement can cause devastating disadvantages. Many young children suffer from trying hard in every step in their lives. It would be a lot of pressure from either schools or parents. As a consequence, selfish and ignorant personalities will develop in each individual. Furthermore, a competitive environment can appear among friends and relatives. Take students from Korea for example, every single Korean are told to try hard since they were young, so its consequences can be seen in the adult's lives. Many of them have psychologic or mental problems, for instance, depression and bipolar disorders, to name but a few. It might seem peculiar to some people, but there is the amount of research shows that nearly 50% of young people have a chance to commit suicide. To conclude, being highly-motivated and hardworking is good, but all things considered, young children have to balance between stressful and relaxed lives. No one can deny that living in this modern world is easy.