In many countries, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Plastic utensils are getting the place in day to day life of people globally. Besides, It is also being used by most of the food and beverages firms. One school of thought opine that usage of the plastic container by firms has more pros than cons while others oppose this. This essay will support the former statement and will prove the stance with relevant examples. On the one hand, the usage of plastic by FMCG firms for carrying food helps people to eat on the go without any hassle. This is because in today’s busy life one does not have enough time to sit and eat. People like to spend less time eating, and for that reason, they generally consume food outside while commuting. Companies are making leakproof packaging which makes carrying food easier for the people. For instance, Earlier when friends used to plan any outings, they had to prepare a full course meal for the day which was stored in a separate container. However, Now frozen food is found everywhere in sealed plastic packaging, and it comes with plastic cutleries as well. So, no one has to worry about storage or preparation of food. On the other hand, Usage of plastic causes pollution to the environment. This is because plastic containers can only be used once, which therefore causes pollution. Nonetheless, this can be minimized by shredding the plastics or using it for other recycling purposes. For example, EQ NGO of Bengaluru in India has started using plastic bottles and containers for art purposes. Several astonishing sculptures are made using non-recyclable wastes. So, the pollution caused due to plastic can be contained. To conclude, Usage of plastic gives comfort to both FMCG companies as well as public due to its varied applications. In contradiction, it may cause pollution to the environment. However, It can be minimized by recycling the wastes. This is a mixed bag of benefits and drawbacks, but the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.