In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this fast-paced era with a changing lifestyle, food habits are also changing. Nowadays, a significant number of people are suffering from severe health issues due to their addiction to junk snacks. Some people say that the government should apply a high percentage of tax on such meal items to make it difficult to afford. In my opinion, this a wrong approach and this will deter only the middle and lower-income groups. On the one hand, Increasing wrong diet choices is leading people towards deadly diseases like obesity, Type 2 diabetes, and autoimmune diseases such as thyroid and PCOS. Imposing high taxes will impacts the middle-class people, industries, and vendors, in consequence, the decline in the economy and obstacles in economic growth. However, to stop this devastating trend of food, rather than imposing high tax amount, the government should ban some harmful ingredient which is used almost in all junk dishes, to make these less dangerous eatables. For instance, Ajinomoto, in 1997, after doing qualitative research, scientists of the USA proved that Ajinomoto, which used in all street food items, is a slow poison and cancer-causing. On the other hand, people become addicted to unhealthy mouthwatering cousins even though they know its harmful for their health. So imposing taxes would not stop them from buying such food. They may find an alternative to it. High civil authorities should use a systematic and effective approach to encourage people to eat a healthy and balanced diet as well as to do exercises. For example, In May 2020, the government of India declared a lockdown in the whole country to lower the cases of COVID-19. During this period, people who were addicted to outside food started cooking such food at home using a high amount of refined oil, Ajinomoto, soy sauce, etc. and the obesity rate is increased by 15%. Besides this, the government should take help of health programs, free yoga classes along with some speeches of eminent dietitians like Dr. Gagan Sidhu to motivate people for nutritious meal choices. To Conclude, the increasing tax will affect only the middle and lower-income groups. If the government wants to decrease the consumption of unhealthy food they should find some healthier alternatives at the lower and affordable prices as well as motivate the individuals to change eating habits.