Some people work for the same organisation all their working life. Others think it is better to work for different organisations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is very common in modern times to observe the workforce changing their employers quite often. Some people believe that one should be loyal and work for a single organization throughout their job life while differing ideology individuals state that it is good to work for multiple employers during the employment years. Although the former view has its proponents, I firmly believe, it is always better to be exposed to new challenges while working with different organizations. To begin with, individuals belonging to Generation X and Generation Y propose that it is beneficial to stay in one company and grow within the same environment so that job life is free of unnecessary risks. These people believe in the philosophy of being loyal and trustworthy to your employer. For example, in a recent survey conducted by a talent management consulting firm, it was inferred that more than two-thirds of the employees above the age of 45 across multiple industries trust the principle of putting all their efforts in a single career rather than exploring the market for a new position. This helps them in retaining the skills relevant in that particular industry, they operate in. Reciprocity is also shown by the employers by rewarding these loyal employees handsomely in the organization. Thus, working in a single assignment has its own advantages depending on the individual as well as the culture of the firm. On the contrary, there are individuals who like to challenge their own status quo and look forward to gaining sufficient knowledge and experience of various domains before they think of retirement. In the long run, this gives much more exposure to the bottlenecks in various industries and finding answers to these blockages gives a person the motivation to pursue advancement in their careers. For instance, a report disseminated by a large executive talent search firm states that CEOs of large conglomerates across the globe are the ones who are multi-faceted, have risen through the ranks, self-motivated, and faced the different challenges head-on. They have a knack of improvising in a dire situation that comes from their diverse working experience and thus becomes a preferable candidate for the high paying high-risk jobs. Hence, hopping between jobs is healthier in terms of experience and knowledge for both the employee and the organization in modern times of volatility and uncertainty. In conclusion, although staying within one company has its perks for an individual, companies move at an accelerated growth rate of they have diversified expertise in their working pipeline. Thus, pedalling the need for flair in the market having rich industry know-how and leadership skills.