In many countries people throw away lot of food from restaurant and shop. Why do you think people waste food in this way? What can be done to reduce waste?

It is indeed true that the excessive amount of food is wasted by the restaurant every day. In my opinion, a lack of awareness among people is the biggest cause of it, and the possible solution for the government is to impose stringent laws. The significant reason for food wastage is not being aware of the value of it. To elaborate, owing to new agricultural technology and genetically modified food (GMF), all people are easily accessible to get food in high quantity and that is also at low prices. Hence, while going to the restaurant they order more food than they need, and not knowingly actual value of the food they leave it unfinished. As a result, there is an increase in the wastage of food. For example, the Hindustan Times reported that in India 1,500 tons food was thrown away in the month of December 2019 and this was the highest wastage in that year, that cost around half a million dollar, which would have been provided to people who are living below the poverty line. Imposing strict rules by the higher authorities is the only solution which can prohibit people from throwing food away from shops or hotels. If the government start charging penalties on food leaving in plates, nobody will be inclined to pay double amount of actual bill. Therefore, the public will think twice before leaving food unfinished. For example, article by New York Times revealed that since 2010 Germany had passed strict law against food wastage by charging 100% penalty on bill amount, which resulted in a decrease in food wastage around 10% than any other European country. In conclusion, not recognizing the value of food is the predominant reason for the wastage of food, only if the government impose strict regulation on food wastage, will the problem be solved