Test and examinations are a central feature of school system in many countries. Do you think educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

There is no doubt that exams play a crucial role in the education system. In my opinion, I firmly consider this method has more benefits than any demerit it might bring. Admittedly, despite the benefits mentioned below, some minor drawbacks can emerge while conducting examinations. One possible issue is that some students feel nervous and they could not perform as usual; however, this scenario is effectively controlled in many schools. In Kerala, for instance, before starting every exam, there is a section called the cooling-off period, during this time, students have been relaxed and mentally prepared to face exams. Another minor problem is it is often thought that exams are designed to check memory rather than skills but this view can be debunked as currently,experts prepare questions. Nevertheless, examinations and tests have many positives. The primary point is that these are conducted in a controlled situation, where invigilators monitor test-takers behaviours; therefore, chances of malpractice and plagiarism can be minimised, whereas in the alternative method, continuous assessment, these problems can be found. Apart from this, most of the exams maintain a minimum nationalised standard, eventually, the result can be verified. For example, NEET exam is a national wide exam, which has been conducted under a strict monitoring system and marking was simplified and standardised throughout India, so it is clear that, examinations are the best method to assess a student's academic ability and skill. In conclusion, people have a different opinion on conducting examinations in schools and college. Even though there some minor negatives, I personally think that this has more merits than any other testing system.