Some people say that parents have the most important role in a child’s development. However, others argue that other things like television or friends have the most significant influence. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that children are highly suggestive and can easily manipulate. While it is sometimes thought that kids are influenced by parents, others consider television and peer pressure have an active role. In my opinion, I strongly think that the former view is most accurate as they can have a long-lasting impact on children. One the one hand, television, which provides some knowledge about the outside world through news and programmes, similarly, friends, who also equally play a significant role in a person's life. In other words, these two groups would shape personality and his views on worldly affairs as they can influence one's thought hugely. For instance, they can modulate both positively and negatively, this is the reason many well-mannered children deviate to unaccepted way, later in their life, due to bad company and impact of visual media. Additionally, since friends have the same wavelength and experiences so they can connect and understand the feelings in a better manner of one another and if any bad happens, they can support each other. On the other hand, some experts think that parents implant a life long picture about values of life and the world, this has a lasting effect on humans' views. This is because during childhood mostly children are surrounded by their parental figures, they teach morals, tradition, culture background to the younger ones. In addition to this, for example, hereditary and genetic factors, which run through the family also define the child's development. As they live and grow with them until a certain age, their character, gestures, eating habits, attitudes are learnt, consequently, these special features reflect on children. In summary, people have a different view on who affects kids' development whether it is family members or visual media and friendship. I personally believe that home atmosphere can alter their growth and developmental milestones.