In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

With the advancement in globalisation, people are keener to buy branded stuff. The local sellers are facing the devastating effect of this as the sale of their products is negligible. I believe this is a negative development as the sellers are facing financial issues and large prices of branded products are increasing inflation. To embark with, the survival of the local shopkeepers is on risk as a big amount of people are abandoning them. Since the demand for non-branded items has been declined, the sellers are not having any profit and are forced to shut their shops. In other words, as youngsters are more interested in wearing branded clothes, the local companies are going under loss. Besides, they are being exploited by malls and big markets to join them by paying extra fees on monthly basis. This is definitely impacting the economy of the country. The other major effect of these large shopping centres in inflation is the big jump in the prices. The brands are selling their products at higher prices as compared to the price of the same product in the local market. As a result, people are facing inflation. For instance, a shirt price is much lesser in local shops with respect to shopping malls. Moreover, people are not able to do savings as most of their salary is getting spent on household expenses. This trend is putting a big burden on middle and lower-class families. To conclude, although these large malls are providing us with a variety of products, but paying double prices for the same products is not a satisfactory development. The competition should be only to increase the quality of products, not to demolish other's profession.