Some people think the money spent on developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold an opinion that the national budget allocated to technological advances for exploring the universe is not worth and instead should be diverted to other fields. While there are some promising outcomes of investing in space technology, I believe that human beings can reap more benefits when spending money on other practical aspects. On the one hand, advocates support technology in space quests because of some reasons. First, exploration of the galaxy is a way to tackle the lack of accommodation and cater for housing demands in megacities because some planets are suggested to be suitable habitats for humans in the future. For example, according to some information accumulated from space satellites, mars is perceived as a promising place for humans to settle down in the next 50 years due to its quite agreeable weather and the nearly equivalent amount of oxygen compared to the Earth. Second, it is said that a new planet is a place for humans to exploit natural resources owing to the current paucity of natural deposits such as coal. In particular, scientists claim that if they were able to come up with a machine that can detect, store and deliver coal back to the Earth, people would be able to tackle the problems of generating electricity from coal. On the other hand, I think that these notions are quite far-fetched and allocation will be better used in other pragmatic ways. Although other celestial bodies can be Earth-like and combat overpopulation, all the ideas are only suggestions and people cannot make sure that those planets can perfectly provide ideal conditions for humans to maintain their living. This means that there are still some occasions when people, if settling on Mars, have to face inclement climatic changes and risk their lives. Moreover, the space on Earth is still adequate to all humans and overpopulation stems from the unequal distribution of people. Therefore, governments should pour money into creating decent job opportunities in rural areas so that migrants living in big cities can return and work in their hometowns, which divides people evenly. In addition, regarding utilizing extraterrestrial resources like coal to make electricity, letting machines wander around aimlessly would be a waste of money to maintain this process because humans have yet accurately mapped those unexplored regions. Instead, it would be wise to sponsor nuclear plants and guarantee their safety to generate electric power because of their cheap and inexhaustible energy. In conclusion, there are some promising outcomes of spending money on technology for space exploration. However, I believe that doing so is of little value and it would be more advantageous and viable when expenditure is diverted to generate lucrative occupations in the countryside and install nuclear factories.