Prevention is better than cure. Out of a country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a popular proverb in English, prevention is better than cure and this applies to the healthcare industry as well. Nowadays, a majority of the amount out of a countries budget is spent on treating the individuals. However, the money should be spent wisely on educating the people about the diseases and it impacts on people in the long run. In my opinion, I completely agree with this viewpoint. Most of the countries spend an enormous amount of money in treating individuals, rather than educating people. Firstly, Educating the customers about the different diseases can help to safeguard against upcoming challenges they can foresee in the long-term. In addition, by conducting more health camps in schools and workplaces can be a good place to start off with. This can help employees or students to be careful and understand the repercussions of lifestyle diseases like diabetes, obesity and high blood pressure. Secondly, if we teach individuals at an early age they will remember this for their entire life. Moreover, by teaching at a tender age about the benefits of health will have a long-lasting impact on their memories and make them aware of lifestyle diseases. As they remember most of the things that they have learned at a younger age. Lastly, we have seen in the past by having preventive measures helps people to live healthily, and lead a longer life. For instance, In a recent survey conducted by world health organization clearly states 75% of people across the world in their late thirties have an impact on their health by some or other diseases. Due to these reasons countries are forced to spend the majority of the money to treat people. In conclusion, my view here is that authorities for respective fields should come forward to make people aware of the importance of health at a younger age. This will eventually lead to fewer spending of money on treatments.