Some people think that there should be strict laws to control the amount of noise a person makes because of the disturbance it causes to people. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

Noise pollution is considered to be as one of the most important aspects to discuss these days. Many would suggest that a strict law should be set into motion to curb noise pollution. This essay will discuss both pros and cons as laws can reduce the amount of noise someone makes; however, the same law can deprive people of having some entertainments among themselves. To begin with, for the cases of disadvantages, a strict policy can prohibit people to have fun especially when there are some festivities. To elaborate, in multi-cultural countries like India, there are lots of ceremonies including spiritual, cultural or even personals. Whenever there are some occasions, people tend to gather and have fun among themselves. Nonetheless, it is not always true that the noise people are making are always below the tolerable limit but, these things actually work as an elixir to make people live happily. Hence, if the authorities impose strict rule without exceptions, then maybe it would decrease social moral. Nevertheless, this drawback does not undermine the need for strict law. Moving on to the advantages, among all other types of pollutions, noise is constantly increasing and in spite of vigorous campaigns, people are not carefully handling this, so a strict mandate is a kind of necessary. To explain, there are lots of sources for sound pollution namely vehicle horns, industrial sounds, development works etc. Despite having many rules and guidelines and no-sound areas and even fines for offenders, people seem to care less. For example, last year in my neighbourhood, the sound of generators of an apartment was so high, the residents were forced to file a complaint, but after stopping for a few days, everything went back to normal and then the people were forced to open a case in the court and after that only it was stopped. On top of that, this was not a single incident, there were many similar occurrences in the past and it will continue to happen all over the country if there is no strict regulation. To conclude, there may be some disadvantages for strict noise pollution preventing bill, but personally, I believe that advantages weigh more. I would suggest that the government should make some serious consideration and pass the bill in parliament.