The government should impose a fee on drivers who use their vehicle during rush hour to help cut down on air pollution from exhaust fumes. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Global warming upholds its position as the most prevalent threat in the 21st century, continuously exacerbating the existing conditions of our planet. Therefore, countries are proposing an equitable number of solutions to alleviate the negative impact of air pollution and one such method is charging drivers a certain amount of fee who drive their machines during traffic hours. I believe that implementing such a drastic law may not be the most effective way to tackle air pollution from exhaust gases. Therefore, I am opposed to the proposal of charging drivers a fee. To begin with, usually, the introduction of additional fees on individuals ends up with unfair treatment in societies as economically well-off people will disregard the laws anyway, especially the ones that can be paid with money. Therefore, exerting an exhaust fee on cars will not solve the problem entirely and decrease the amount of tailpipe smoke. For example, the UK Government passed a similar law, but it has long been proven that despite receiving tickets during peak traffic times, the roads remain congested with vehicles. Furthermore, although there are many effective and equitable alternatives in order to eliminate the impact of exhaust gasses on air quality, sticking up to this radical decision can be jeopardizing to certain people. It is important to acknowledge that methods like improvement of public transportation and infrastructure development can generate a solution which can provide a more affordable, accessible and sustainable dominance. Additionally, promoting a culture of remote work capabilities and flexible working hours can significantly decrease the number of drivers on roads during the peak-hours. In conclusion, while reducing traffic and pollution is crucial, imposing a rush-hour specific fee law on drivers is unjustifiable and is not the most equitable strategy. Instead, a combination of improved public transportation, flexible work policies and technological advancements should be pursued to address these issues in a multifaceted and holistic manner.