Damage to the environment is an inevitable consequence of the improvement in the standard of living. To what degree do you agree or disagree with this position?

It is often believed that the improvement in the standard of living of people is one of the major causes of damaging the environment. In my opinion, I completely agree that advancement to ensure that people have a decent lifestyle is a major reason leading to environmental destruction. Firstly, a good reason leading to environmental damage is the increase in construction by cutting down trees. In other words, due to increasing demands of the people for connecting roads, railways, malls, and other infrastructural properties leading to an increase in deforestation. As more and more people demand a decent lifestyle when it comes to their accommodation, travelling, and other basics of life. Rajasthan, in India, is one of the prime examples as the city was rich in natural resources, but in order to meet the demands of its people, the country is left with nothing more than barren lands. Secondly, the use of advanced machinery as a means of luxury by the current generation, leading to a heavy penalty paid by the environment. Even though the advancement of technology has provided one with a comfortable lifestyle, it has caused massive damage to the environment around us. For instance, with the increase in the use of air-conditioners, there has been a release of toxic gases in the air which are harmful not only for the environment but also by humans. Moreover, there is no focus currently on the sustainable use of resources. In conclusion, in order to ensure a comfortable lifestyle for humans, we are compromising on the health of our environment.