Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the wordls are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this is the statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars? give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

One big problem that important cities are facing today around the world is the Traffic jam. This is creating an unpleasant atmosphere with noise from honks and bad air coming out of vehicles. It is true that the car contribution to this issue is major and this can be controlled by taking proper measures. This essay talks about how the upswing of the car population has gone in the last thirty years and also the ways to control this problem from the side of authority. To begin with, One main reason behind car ownership is that, people these days are now looking for safety and Privacy which is lacking in public transport. In addition, they are also willing to travel long distances in their private vehicles which are more sophisticated and can take halts whenever required. Secondly, with the increase in economical status people are preferring luxury and comfort, so they are pulling money for extra accessories as well. Moreover, In some classes, a family with three or four members are owning more than two cars as a symbol of social status. As an example, according to the survey conducted by Indian times shows that 80% of people preferred to use their own vehicles instead of public transport. On the other hand, to resolve this serious trouble the government should take involvement and introduce active solutions and strict laws. Firstly, to encourage people, public transport must be improved by providing good seating, air conditioning and most importantly limiting the number of people per each vehicle. Additionally, the state should ensure safety to the children and women by providing 24*7 customer care service as well as resolving the complaints instantly. Besides, another measure to control the rise in cars is increasing fuel prices and also making compulsory insurance on private vehicles. To conclude, individuals should take a stand and feel responsible for causing damage to the environment, and look for ways to control traffic jams. It is the people and ministry together can bring the change.