All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity, How could it be tackled?

Undoubtedly, in today’s world, folks are inclined towards choosing time-saving options over anything such as food habits, which have drastically changed over time. Due to this, major health-related issues are arising not only in adults but, also amongst children like obesity is a generic problem nowadays. This comprehension will discuss the reasons for this problem and will cite some methods to prevent the same. First and foremost, the lifestyle that humans have attained from the last decade, has resulted in the downfall of overall wellness graph at an alarming rate. As a result, individuals are developing their taste for junk food rather than consuming a nutritious meal. Secondly, because of the accelerating population, playgrounds are being converted into residential infrastructures hence, forcing kids to restrict their physical exercises. For example, a study conducted by the North Carolina University states that due to hectic work schedules, people develop a habit of either skipping a meal or prefer eating outside frequently rather than cooking themselves, which invites a lot of diseases sooner than anticipated. To tackle the aforesaid, Philipines is teaching their youngsters to grow their own food by including it in their school subjects. Moreover, due to the recent COVID-19 pandemic, families were restricted in their homes which developed laziness in the members. Nevertheless, being confined within the four walls for consecutive days lead to a monotonous schedule consisting of limited activities starting from sitting in front of the laptop screens for long office hours or online classes, to sitting idle on a sofa checking social media platforms causing weight gain. In order to promote mobility, guardians must encourage offsprings to pursue yoga or Zumba which can be easily performed within the residential premises. In conclusion, I would like to emphasize that implementing a healthy diet must be prioritised, not only by one’s family but, also by the society by conducting specific awareness campaigns. Including a healthy diet in the academic curriculum will additionally help the students to develop their interest in maintaining physical fitness from the early years as nothing is more important than our wellness.