Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Since the advancement in communication technology, it has become more feasible than ever to talk to relatives and friends who live away. Critics argue that thanks to new modes of communication it is no longer required to write letters, however,others believe the traditional way of writing letters is more valuable as the letters are memories. In my opinion, I agree with the former/latter view, as people are on the run and need instant replies, and the only way to achieve that is by using new machine communications. To begin, it is undeniable that sending and receiving letters had its own joy, however, with the fast-moving world, also came numerous innovations which led to quick communications with loved ones and other people. For instance, a study published by Royal Mail UK reported that in 2019, the number of letters fell from 500,000 to 300,000 within the past decade, as many people are now utilising text messages, and calls instead of jotting down on paper. The statistics are shocking for the public, as more than two-thirds of the world in this era is using brand-new electronic devices to send messages. Based on this report, it is profoundly evident that many people have switched to texting, emailing and calls. In addition to fast communication, another reason why people are not writing anymore and sticking to the latest services for talking to others is because electronic messages do not get lost in the process of delivering. For instance, it is often heard that someone did not receive an envelope, but with recent technology, the sender gets a notification within seconds once the receiver has the email in their inbox. This type of automation has indeed improved transmission of utmost important message deliveries. For this reason, it will not be unreasonable to assume that new ways of contact will consistently make sure the text is sent to the right address and person, as there is zero chance of machines failing. To conclude from the aforementioned examples, I firmly believe that in a rapidly moving world, conversation also needs to be swift, as people want speedy letters and no lost mail.