It is generally believed that the internet is an excellent means of communication but some people suggest that it may not be the best place to find information. Discuss both the opinion and give your own views .

I nternet has taken the world by storm owing to its collated information holding capacity and acting as a medium of communication. Extending on this people often lock horns on the validity of the information that i nternet has to offer. I believe, while the communication ability can be deemed fruitful, the information it provides can be erroneous, out of context or might need some background information to be used efficiently. Internet is openly available to everyone. People use it post all sorts of information, while various sites vet the data some sites don't do that. For instance, sites like Wikipedia, offers information on a plethora of sources, but it can't be considered always true as anyone can enter information on any topic. Similarly, we have observed many cases on social media, where excerpts of people's post are taken out of context to bully them. Also, people have started to rely on i nternet to diagnose their medical symptoms, this has been detrimental to patient's health as any treatment needs some background information about how a particular treatment should be administered. On the flip side, the Web can is still the best place to host the information that needs to be viewed as public. Various newspapers have gone online so that people can easily read them. It also acts as a place for collaborating information across various sectors. For example, StackOverflow is a site where people post technical solutions for global developers to refer to, it has definitely bolstered the development. If there was no internet, these things would still be localised and be using paper as a means of transmitting i nformation. In conclusion, even though we cannot completely trust everything we see on the internet, but it still is one of the best breakthroughs of the 20th century. It has facilitated better communication and information sharing mechanism, making our lives better.