Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In the past thirty years, there has been an exponential growth in the number of car possessions. With the convenience offered by driving your own car, this also pose the society into ‘one big traffic jam’. This problem becomes more apparent to the countries that have a large number of population and government interventions are needed to solve it. This issue will be elaborated in the following paragraphs. With a drastic increase in car ownership, it comes with a cost that put every traffic users have to endure together. This might be caused by the growing number of affordable cars selections and it adds to the customer’s purchasing power. For example, in Indonesia, a cost friendly family car, such as Diahatsu Xenia, has been everyone’s favorite because it can load up to 7 passengers and costs under 200,000,000 rupiah. In the past 10 years, more than a million Xenia cars has been sold in Indonesia. By having this issue, the government has to be strategic in creating regulations to lessen the number of traffic on the road. Placing a minimum number of people in the car could result less cars would be on the road and encourage people to carpool. For instance, in Jakarta, the local government put a base number of 4 seats need to be filled so the car can pass through the metropolitan area. A better improvement in public transport also may cause people to opt to use it than using their own transport. In addition to basing the passenger number, the government in Jakarta, in the past five decades, has been working to improve their public transportations to be more comfortable, safe, and reliable. As a result, in 2019, they successfully build MRT (Metropolitan Railway Transport) which proven to reduce the amount of people on the road. In conclusion, with the rising of affordable cars, traffic problems are unavoidable, and it happens to other cities in the world, not only Jakarta. Strict road regulations have to be imposed to negate the amount traffic on the road. Moreover, the government also has to improve their public transport system for the people to see the benefit of using one instead of their own transportation.