Write about the following topics. Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to. How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

Travel has been made affordable in the last 20 years and because of this, more destinations are available for us to choose frrom. However, many peopel travel without knowledge on the cultures and traditions of the locals which leads to various problems. This essay will discuss the two negative impacts of tourism and provide solutions for them. The two main problems that arises from tourism are the lack of knowledge on the customs of the locals and pollution that tourism generates. There are many individuals who do not do their research on the countries they visit. This, leads to offending locals who end up resentting resetting foreigners visiting their land. For example, locals in Bali, Indonesia, have strict religious beliefs and they find it disrespectful when foreigners disregard their practices. Locals place offerings to their ancestors along the pathways during their prayers and several tourists overlook these and kick them around. This, leads to anger amoungst Balinese. In addition, tourism sectors generate great amounts of pollution that has affected the environment on wide scales. For instance, plastic bottles are strewn upon beaches and roads which is an obvious display of the reckless attitudes of consumers and tourists. The impacts of tourism has greatly affected several nations aound the world both culturally and environmentally. There are solutions that we can adopt to make travels a pleasant experience for both tourists and locals alike. Firstly, travellers should read up and do their research before travelling out to their destination. They could gather information from the internet, for example, and also through books that have in depth information on what is to be observed in terms of culture and traditions. In addition, they could also pick up simple phrases and greetings which would definetely impress locals. To curb the increasing pollution rates, plastic bottles could be replaced with portable bottles instead. Also, plastic bags could be banned by state officials and people could utilise bags that are reusuable. These simple steps could reduce the negative outcomes of travels and also make it more memorable. To conclude, travels makes us wiser and broadens our knowledge. We could implement several simple steps to ensure that we look out and respect both the locals sentiments and the land that they live in.