Computers are becoming an essential part of education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

The world of education has been changing significantly with the addition of computer technology being introduced in every level of learning stages. In my opinion, including computers in the students learning can help to maximize their learning capacities and familiarize themselves with technology. However, there are some side effects that have to be considered, such as creating a distraction in class and might not be suitable for all ages. This topic will be discussed further in the following paragraphs. Adding modern gadgets in the learning process can help the students to broaden their knowledge. Although the students normally would use their textbooks to acquire the fundamentals learning for their subjects, the internet is full of information that can help them to expand the basic principals learned from the books. For example, the high school students in a village in Indonesia, in Magetan, managed to create a solar-powered car because they were inspired by a video they watched on YouTube. Introducing technological knowledge in the education system enables the students to be familiar with the current technologies as well. With the prior knowledge in the current gadgets, it helps them to be more technologically literate compared to other generations before them. Such as, there is an increase in the enrollment of students who study IT (Information and Technology) in the university of Swinburne because they have been exposed to computers and software since they were in elementary schools. On the other hand, accommodating technologies in classes could cause distraction from the actual learning itself. Instead of using the computers as instructed by the teacher, the students might use it to browse irrelevant materials that are not useful for their studies. For example, data from students’ computer-based on Tarakanita Primary School shows 50% of the search history are not related to their study materials. Moreover, more parents whose children are in elementary school, also hesitant to allow their children to be given access to computers at school. They suggest the students need to have less screen time and increase their time to be outdoor. For instance, there has been an increase in schools that prohibited the use of computers to students from grade 1 to 3 and give strict supervision to grade 4 to 6. In conclusion, the need to incorporate computers into the education system is unavoidable. Despite the disadvantages that hinder students from learning the essentials and increasing their screen time, computers also pose a very essential component in modern learning, especially for the 21st-century kids. In addition, it helps them to thrive in their studies by exposing them the endless availability of resources on the internet and introducing them to the technologies in the appropriate age, so they can improve the future with their inventions. In my view, the usage of technology has to be used wisely and parental guidance is needed to bring about the advantages offered to us.