In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In today's globalized world, more people are moving to gigantic malls and e-commerce websites for their daily essentials. There are several impacts of the same. I agree with the fact that due to this, local shops are shutting their operations and also feel this is a negative development. This essay will discuss why this is the case as well the negative outcomes from the latter. To start with, the majority of the population has become price-conscious, means they like to shop where they can save the most. Secondly, shopping complexes include large multinational brands which offer variety at reduced prices. Nowadays, shops in these centres have huge discounts and reduced prices which attract citizens and encourage them to buy more. Thirdly, international brands also offer high-quality products ranging from staples like Food and Grocery to non-essential items like Clothes, electronics etc. It is more convenient to shop from a place which has everything rather than changing shops until you find the product. Finally, malls also enhance the experience of a consumer with air-conditioned rooms, and also contribute to quality family time through food courts, entertainment areas and theatres. With advantages comes even greater disadvantages. For instance, the opening of various hubs has led to numerous shops shutting their operations as the demand for local ingredients as well as craftmanship has decreased tremendously. Moreover, it has led to declining employment as local shops contribute immensely to the community. Lastly, people who own these spaces are forced to work in these chains in lower positions and encourage their juveniles to not start businesses in the community. To conclude, it is true that big shopping complexes have had a detrimental impact on the local markets, but have also contributed to the community in terms of employment, convenience and leisure time.