Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In this modern era, humans are travelling all over the world to explore and to learn history in a better way. The tourism sector is exploding and has become a great source of income for many. But, on contrary, the atmosphere and the authenticity of the region is getting risked. Through this essay, I will discuss my ideology which stands impartial to both the scenarios. To begin with, there are multiple reasons why tourism is crucial. First and foremost the major role of this industry is to provide tremendous support to the economical welfare of the visiting place. For instance, in India, this sector fetches around 1.6 billion dollars every year only in Agra as the individuals from various countries come to the place for its mesmerizing tomb, 'The Taj Mahal' which has a rich background story associated to it. Furthermore, it helps in inculcating knowledge about the history and helps in unwinding the roots of different cultures, places and people. However, there are certain side effects of this sector. Firstly, there is a major impact on the environment because people produce litter which is, in turn, unhygienic and unhealthy. For instance, in China, around 2 billion people travel to visit 'The Great Wall of China' and it is estimated that 15 metric tonnes of garbage are collected annually from the place. Secondly, due to the divided attention of the government, localities are not able to access to advanced infrastructure and other development in their areas. In conclusion, even though the tourism plays an integral part in promoting the history, culture and authenticity of a region, however, the fact that the atmosphere and the common people suffer can not be ignored. So, in my perspective, the balance between the two should be there for a better living.