Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree.

Educational institutions are responsible for providing holistic education. In this day and age, vocational subjects are becoming increasingly popular, unlike in the past. I strongly agree that instead of family members and pen pals, education institutes should prioritize non-scholastic achievements. This is because they not only help the youngster to learn an important skill but also be useful in shaping their career. Developing a passion or a hobby begins at an early age. Teaching important life skills, such as cooking, fashion designing or even carpentry during the formative years of a child proves quite advantageous. Firstly, the child can reflect on his abilities and get an opportunity to explore different fields as a youngster. This learning experience in educational organizations amongst their peers is fun-loving and exciting. Teenagers grasp quickly and are keen to experiment with what they have learnt. Thus, learning by doing makes the concept stronger and long-lasting. Moreover, these skills are indispensable for learners with academic difficulties. Each child is unique and has different capabilities. Emphasis on academics solely at the school level, may leave these special needs children on the back burner. They will be discouraged from attending school, if they are not offered any activity. For instance, in India, the dropout rates of students from a reputed school in Delhi have reduced by 5% since the introduction of subjects like home science, woodcraft, design and many more. Children even look up to seeking admission to these schools which offer diverse skill development opportunities. Additionally, passion transforming into a career does not take long when life skills execution is done in schools. Adolescents can choose one such skill learnt and build their future if such facilities are offered in the early years of life. They get time for hit and trial, expand their skills further and start earning at a tender age. Families with limited income are also motivated to send their children to schools as they realize that they could soon be the breadwinners for their families. While academics are vital for acquiring basic knowledge, however, competence acquisition at academic setups could foster career development and new learning experiences. Thus, I completely believe that vocational studies should be a priority.