More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that increasing the price of fattening foods will solve this problem. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the number of obesity in the world is seriously increasing. Many people believe that if the price of junk food increased the problem would be solved. I strongly disagree with the statement. First of all, in my opinion a healthier lifestyle comes from inside our heads and people can only change their eating costumes if they make an effort to eat better. Take as an example the prices of vegetable and lettuces, these type of food are extremely low cost and even so most people prefer to eat hamburgers in a fast food. Furthermore, in my understanding it is becoming quite easier to eat healthy due to the options for vegetarians and vegans. Second of all, one of the causes for the large number of people eating fattening food is the culture, there are different cultures in every place of the world and I believe that some places are more used to eating unhealthy food because it is common to have them in every restaurant and it is rooted in their culture. Take as an example the Indians, most of them are vegetarians due to their religion and culture. That being said, I think that there are other ways to reduce obesity. In conclusion, I do not think that increasing price of unhealthy food is the answer to solving the problem of the constant growth of obese people, the proper solutions would involve a culture change and citizens more conscious.