There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this.

It is becoming more common for wedded couples globally deciding on not having babies. An advantage that this phenomenon brings to such couples is that they can have a financially strong old age, but it comes along with a disadvantage that they do not have anybody to support them in the same period of life, that is old age. One benefit that results from not having children is that you have a great amount of money in your old age, and thus you can live it easily. For most parents, about 50 to 60 percent of their money (salaries, savings, and so on) goes into making lives of and settling their children. That is to say, parents spend most of their money on children's upbringing, education, weddings, et cetera. Thus, when their (parents') old age arrives, they have little left with them. However, if they do not have kids, they do not have to spend money on them. Consequently, their money remains with them when they are old, and they live it financially easily. For example, as per a recent survey by eld.com, 30% old couples in India have no sons or daughters, and they find no financial problems in their lives now. Nevertheless, not having children has a drawback, too, which is that you do not have any young support by your side when you are old. Most old people need physical support as they cannot spend this time of life only by themselves. Since their bodies do not allow them to perform all activities such as cooking, shopping and sometimes even walking, they require their children to help them in this period of life. Therefore, most of those who have not had children struggle greatly in their old age. For instance, according to a poll by Pakistan TV, 70% childless old people in Pakistan find it extremely hard to cope with their daily lives because their bodies have little strength and they have nobody young to support them. In conclusion, childless couples do have the advantage of a financially strong old age, but no one there to support them physically in the same period is a demerit for them.