Some people think that cultural traditions may be destroyed when they are used as money-making traditions aimed at tourists. Others, however, believe that it is the only way to save these traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, travelling has been the most popular thing everyone enjoys doing in their leisure time. They love exploring new places, experiencing different cultures, and seeking adventures. In order to meet the traveller's demands, many cultural traditions are modified for commercialization. Some people think that cultural traditions may be destroyed when they are used as money-making traditions aimed at tourists. Others, however, believe that it is the only way to save these traditions. In my opinion, both views are true to a certain extent. On the one hand, lots of traditional customs only appeared on special occasions, now they happen more often. This change not only gives a bad impression to foreign visitors but also makes the customs less meaningful to the locals. Also, uncontrolled tourism causes irreparable damage to heritage sites. For instance, some tourists carve their names into rock art to mark their journey when they aren’t allowed to do it. On the other hand, there are several reasons why monetizing cultural traditions is the only way to protect them. The increase in visitor numbers provides funds for protection and restoration. It also promotes cultural values and supports local handicrafts. Moreover, making money from cultural traditions puts it in public display, this will provide more knowledge and awareness for people. In conclusion, using cultural traditions as money-making attractions has both positive and negative impacts. Therefore, it is crucial to strike a balance in how these traditions are monetized, ensuring they are preserved while retaining their intrinsic value.