Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your opinion.

In a few companies, it is necessary that the workers wear the office uniform all the time. Firstly, this essay discusses a benefit of this phenomenon, that is to say the increased sense of unity uniforms provide. Then it gives an account of one disadvantage of it, which is the sense of monotony uniforms can cause for employees. Afterwards, it drives home the point that overall it is a welcome trend as the increased unity brought by uniforms is strengthening and the problem of monotony is insignificant. Uniforms are a great tool for increasing the sense of unity in workplaces. When employees dress in the same kind of attire, they feel that they are a team. Thus, the sense of unity among them increases. For example, according to a comparative study by a human psychology website, in the U.S.A., the sense of collective identity in the companies that had uniforms was 10 times stronger than that in the companies that did not have uniforms. A disadvantage of wearing uniforms at all times is that they can become a source of monotony for employees. Humans have a tendency towards not sticking to one thing. If a thing becomes a routine, it starts to become a source of monotony as well. Similarly, if the employees of a company have to wear a uniform all the time, they can find their dressing boring. For instance, a survey by UniformOrNot.Com concludes that according to 40% employees in the U.K., uniforms are a tedious thing. This essay is of the opinion that wearing uniforms at all times is very advantageous and hardly disadvantageous. The increased unity among employees resulting from a uniform enhances the overall performance of the company. On the other hand, the monotony arising out of it can easily be eliminated by providing employees with a few sources of entertainment in the office. To give evidence, ABC pvt. ltd. just revealed that after the establishment of music rooms in its offices, its employees hardly ever felt the monotony of the uniform. Also, as expected, the uniform strengthened the bonds between the employees, and the company's performance was always on the rise. In conclusion, uniforms unite the employees of a company better, so they are good to have. A few sources of entertainment in the workplace can easily kill the monotony resulting from them (uniforms).