Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

In the current era, people around the world are producing considerably more waste than ever. While there are numerous reasons which have been causing this menace, the spike in the consumption by the growing population and excessive use of non-biodegradable disposable products are the major contributors. In order to control the garbage production, the governments must take certain measures; such as population control and enforcing bio-degradable products. The population around the world is exploding at a significantly fast pace, which leads to the increased consumption of consumer products. The spike in consumption causes a massive load of garbage in terms of food waste. The social habit of buying more than the actual need is the real nightmare for the environment. Additionally, people tend to buy new products more quickly, throwing the old ones in the trash right away. This system causes non-combustible wastes such as plastic, paper, glass and metal. This non-biodegradable waste is not only hazardous for the planet but also causes a substantial economic burden for the nation to manage such humongous trash. There is a pressing need to regulate these factor to control waste production. In order to reduce waste generation, governments need to take some key measures. Firstly, population growth should be controlled by introducing stricter laws and spreading awareness in society to promote optimum consumption. Moreover, the citizens should be encouraged for recycling the old products, by setting up several recycling centres in their jurisdictions. Secondly, governments should restrict the usage of plastic material and enforcing the bio-degradable packing materials instead. Thereafter, people should be prompted to separate the waste based on the material. In conclusion, growing waste production is a significant problem all over the world. This essay discussed why increasing population and non-combustible materials are responsible for it. This essay also suggested the key measures such as population control, recycling and bio-degradable products, which the governments should bring in action.