The government should not waste money on arts as this money would be better spent on other projects like sanitation or infrastructure. Do you agree with the above statement?

I disagree with the statement, it should be an investment rather than an expenditure for the government and contribution to the art practice should be considered significant as it encourages growth and development. In the essay 2 facets of it would be expanded firstly, driving the tourism industry which adds a substantial amount in the GDP of the country and secondly, initiating job opportunities of the local communities as well as potential to showcase on the international platform. To begin with, the tourism industry massively impacts the growth, employment and ensures inflow of currency in the country. Artists, craftsmen, and architects have the power to create iconic buildings or artworks which would ultimately create a landmark and attract travellers across the globe. For instincts, Paris is known for its skill of nurturing artists, exhibiting phenomenal work of craft and historic architecture like the Eiffel Tower which invites thousands of tourists every year. New York is famous for street art and the brewing hip-hop practice which thrives a community and encourages similar minded people to accumulative. The monuments appeal travellers resulting in increasing revenue of the local communities and assigning a spot on the travel map. Moreover, it encourages local communities to enrich their artistic abilities and expand the local craft scene in the market. Growth in the craft departments would directly impact increased job prospects, enhancement of the local experience and revival of the lost craftsmanship. Some artefacts can be globally recognized and boost the economy by increasing sales demand. For example - Weaving in India like ‘Ekta’ has been internationally accepted and widely seen in home decor products or fashion labels. Backward communities have gained recognition, enhancing their family's standard of living and encouraging the future generation to take it to step forward. Therefore, being an art student I believe, it is a lifeline of the economy as it creates opportunities for development, tourism and makes the masses skilled to generate their own employment opportunities.