Most people prefer shopping in supermarkets nowadays. How does this affect the local shops? What are the positive and negative impacts of this development?

Supermarkets are becoming increasingly popular these days. Many people choose multi-commodity stores over the traditional shops for shopping. Consequently, it has an adverse effect on the business of the local shops. This essay will discuss both benefits and drawbacks of change in trend To begin with, hypermarkets posses a serious threat to the local community shops. One of the prime reason behind this is aggressive pricing as these stores offer goods at a heavy discount to the customers. Therefore, consumer buying preferences are changing which is leading to the closing of small businesses and markets. However, megastores have certain advantages and biggest among all is that it has made shopping more easy and convenient for the people as these stores act as a one-stop solution for all their needs. This is because they offer a plethora of products ranging from grocery items to clothes, electronics, and even sports equipment. Hence, shopping in these stores has become more favourable for shoppers as they don't have to visit several markets for various products. Despite this, there are certain disadvantages to these markets. Since they have numerous brands to keep in the store and space is limited, the variety of articles, particularly in clothes remains limited. In other words, the customer may find more number of different items in an exclusive brand showroom as compared to megastores. As a result, the purchaser has to satisfy himself based on the options available at the store. To conclude, buying in megamarkets is becoming incredibly common. These markets have detrimental effects on small businesses. While they are advantageous to the consumers because of their diversity in types of products, the shopper may have to adjust with limited options.