In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Studying overseas is becoming increasingly popular nowadays. A growing number of university students tend to study in other institutes around the world as part of their degree, while students in the past days were more willing to have their higher education in their own countries. This essay will discuss both the positives and negatives of this development. The greatest advantage of more students studying abroad is that those students will have significant life experiences they have no opportunities to gain in the study in their own countries. Students should be more independent while being overseas. They should learn how to solve various problems and overcome all kinds of difficulties on their own. For instance, many young students should learn how to take care of themselves when being abroad despite they do not need to do anything at home.These experiences are really the main advantage of studying overseas and will help the young students in their future, which leads to more and more students studying abroad. However, this development also has its own disadvantages. Students will inevitably face a cultural and linguistic challenge while abroad. It is in fact difficult to live in a foreign country where everything is unfamiliar. Those students studying abroad have to be pushed out of their comfort zone and adapt to the new environment. For example, a survey shows that many students studying overseas have difficulties in making new friends because of cultural differences. As a result, some students who are studying overseas struggle with these difficulties. In conclusion, studying overseas helps the young generations grow as a person, although students will no doubt experience social and language barriers.