As a result of electronic inventions such as the computer and television, people do less physical activity, and this is having a negative effect on their health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the recent advancements in technology, human beings are increasingly becoming more obsessed with electronic gadgets and appliances. Many believe that people spend most of their time using these devices, instead of doing outdoor activities, which brings in a detrimental impact on their physical as well as mental health. I completely agree with the notion and this essay will further support my opinion in detail. It cannot be denied that technology has helped humankind for decades to improve the way society functions. The evolution of technology brought-in some innovative devices such as computers, smart televisions, smartphones, wearables gadgets, smartwatches, tablet PCs and many other artificial intelligence-based appliances. Undoubtedly, these have been proven revolutionary to transform our lifestyle. For instance, as per the recent study by Stanford University, the number of smart device users has increased multi-fold; by 800% during the last decade. Though it also reflected that they gradually become addicted to using them beyond their actual needs. This technological evolution has resulted in too many adverse consequences on the well-being of society. People prefer playing online games instead of playing in the field. In addition, they devote considerable time to watching television and online streaming media, which keep them away from other recreational activities. For example, as per the recent study, the time spent in physical activities has dropped substantially by an average of 65 per cent over the last 10 years. It also suggested that social imbalance has been growing far more rapidly than anticipated. In summary, while these tech innovations are intended for benefit of the society as a whole, certainly there are numerous repercussions that are impacting human life negatively. This essay argued why I agreed to the statement and suggested the logical reasons to support the thesis.