Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives. In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

With the advancements of technologies in health care that we have in this modern era has increased the number of older people, over the age of sixty-five, who are active and make their contributions to the society. Despite their age and reduced capacity in doing physical work, these elders’ willingness to contribute the society is greatly appreciated and beneficial to the whole community. We can learn from their history and bring their expertise to the workplace. This essay will discuss the upsides of having the contributions made by the older generation to our community. Firstly, the grandparents had gone through a lot of experiences in their life. It includes experiencing the culture of the olden days that might not be captured correctly in museums or books. Therefore, with the information we get from the firsthand sources, we can get in-depth knowledge about the histories to enrich our culture. For instance, schools in America celebrate the Grandparents’ day, where the students tell stories from their grandparents to the class and elaborate on how the story has affected their point of view. In addition, although the people over the age of sixty-five cannot handle heavy labour jobs, they are more expert in knowing the industries compared to any other employees who are just starting up or who have been working in the field for several years. Moreover, with the professional knowledge they already acquired, many start-up companies hire older people who have been in the industry for a long time to become their advisors. For example, executives of Spotify, a company for audio streaming application, hire retirees from the Hard Rock Music to their team to gain more understanding in advertising their service to a wider audience. In conclusion, through technologies, the people over sixties are able to have a longer life expectancy and more active life than the previous generation. With this advantage, a lot of the older generations seek to add values to the societies. In my opinion, there are some benefits of having them in our community and workplace. Because when we include them, they brought their knowledge and expertise with them. Let’s not neglect the grey-haired generations but learn from them and recognize their skills to make us better and stronger.