Today large shopping malls and super markets are more common than small local shops. is this a negative or positive development?

Nowadays, small shops have been becoming less popular due to the increase in the number of supermarkets and shopping malls. The modern trend of shopping is definitely a positive development as a buyer cannot only save time by shopping from one place but also cost-effective and easily approachable. This essay will discuss the aforementioned aspects in the subsequent paragraphs. On the first hand, superstores and large shopping plazas help people to save time during shopping. To clarify, when an individual visits different local shops to buy essential products then it takes time because a buyer has to travel to several places as it is not possible for small sellers to keep everything in their stores whereas, on the other hand, supermarket provides facilities to shop all essential products under the same roof. For example, an article published in 2019, in The Daily News, America, stated that 90% of Americans prefer to shop from big stores as it saves of the time. On the other hand, transportation is always a major concern during shopping. To elaborate, it is an arduous task to visit different shops at different locations to complete their shopping whereas, the trains and bus stations are easily available near shopping centres to make shopping easy. To exemplify, in Sydney, Australia, there is at least one tram station near every central business district. In addition, cost also plays a vital role in every aspect of life. To explain, as supermarkets and other huge shopping stores have more items in stock due to which their prices are comparatively less than local shop keepers which favour buyers to save a massive amount of money. For instance, a survey conducted by trade organization of Pakistan in 2018, on 500 people/local buyers revealed that prices of products in local retailers shops are 40% higher as compared to the supermarket prices. In conclusion, it can be concluded that although the development of big shopping centres and other supermarkets have replaced a number of local shops, which is a positive development because it has made the life easy in terms of not only saving time and money but also easy commutation.