Computers have changed the way people study. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using computers as study aids?

Computers have become incredibly common in people's studying nowadays. A growing number of people tend to use computers to study. Computers allow people to access more learning resources no matter when and where, although sometimes it is difficult to distinguish whether these resources are reliable. This essay will discuss the positives and negatives of studying with the aid of computers. The greatest benefit of using a computer to study is that it is easier for people to obtain a wider range of learning materials in comparison with the traditional learning method. People can easily get an enormous amount of resources like courses and books on the internet. Some of those are even for free. What's more, people can take a course provided by universities abroad and pursue a degree without going abroad. For example, there are a huge number of videos relating to various subjects on online platforms. Therefore, the convenience of using a computer to study is the main advantage of using a computer to study. However, studying by using a computer has its own disadvantages of unreliability. There are so many learning materials on the internet that people sometimes are confused about whether they are the right one for their study. For instance, some courses are shared by learners other than professional teachers. There might be some mistakes in their courses that will mislead those who are taking the courses. As a result, those unreliable materials will have a negative effect on the learners. In conclusion, using a computer to study makes people access to more learning materials although people should have the ability to identify those reliable resources.