One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the past few decades, there a wide range of improvements made in the field of science and technology. Especially the advancements made in the medical facilities have aided to ensure a longer life expectancy. While some people feel that these enhancements can be detrimental, I personally disagree with this view. I believe that a longer life can be highly beneficial to not just the individual but also the country. Primarily, with an increase in the annual life span, the workforce of the nation rises. Eventually, the economy of the nation booms. For example, in Japan, the average age of an individual is around 87 years. This has subsequently impacted the productivity of the nation with Japan having one of the highest GDP in the world. As older people are more experienced than their counterparts, jobs like those of teachers, politicians and administrators are better handled by them. Also, by imparting their knowledge to the youngsters, elders guarantee a bright future for the community. Furthermore, with people living for a longer duration, they get more years to spend with their family. Working parents can leave their offspring with their grandparents. Instead of growing under the guidance of a caretaker, children can be brought- up with utmost love and affection by the family’s elders. For instance, a study has revealed that children who are taken care of by elders until they went to schools had faster development of motor, social and physical skills than those left with house-helps or nannies. However, presently, medical care and facilities have become a privilege. With people living for more years, families often run into debts. This is because the geriatrics are more prone to disease and illnesses, the treatment of which in today’s world is exorbitant. Nevertheless, to meet their needs, many old people continue working past their retirement age. Thus, fresh graduates are left with very few job opportunities in the country as their slots are taken up by older people. To illustrate, in japan people at the age of 70 are as energetic as the youth of the country. The older population continue working as they claim that their dictionary has no word that translates to the English word “retire”. As a result, a larger number of Japanese youngsters have moved out seeking employment prospects. In conclusion, although there are a few disadvantages to an increased lifespan, the positives overshadow the drawbacks. I firmly feel that with more years added to one’s life, individuals can aid in building a better world for the future generation.