Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music is one of the most crucial types of art and it has evolved at the same speed with the advance of humanity. For this reason, most people argue that it is linked to our cultures. I staunchly believe that music has a myriad of merits, among them it is considered a valuable method for knowing the deepest roots of different cultures. In this essay, I will explain my reasons in detail. To begin with, music was created as a source of pleasure due to the impact that has on our brains by stimulating the release of neurotransmitters. Thus, currently, there are hundreds of genres that inspire our lives daily such as 'Country', 'Jazz', 'Rap', 'Opera', etc. However, despite being one of the most common leisure activities, many people use it as a resource of historical information, mainly those songs or artists that have widely influenced our communities. For instance, in Colombia, it is mandatory that teachers who dictate art classes must give lectures about the most remarkable events related to music. As a consequence of this, most students have a strong sense of belonging when they are practising and composing their own lyrics. Additionally, there are many songs that have been considered inappropriate content with controversial meanings due to their messages against social issues that most communities have faced. Therefore, some musicians are criticized and even listening to their songs is not allowed. For example, in Venezuela, there was a rapper called "Canserbero" who used to criticize the governors in his Country in order to struggle in favour of the rights of the population. Finally, he died owing to unknown reasons, and many other rappers have begged for justice for his crime in their compositions. To sum up, music is an artistic way to learn more about other kinds of information such as history and cultural events. This should be appreciated not only because of the pleasure that generates us but also the invaluable meaning in humankind.