Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children.) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that mandatory and free public service should be a part of secondary school programmes. In my opinion, I agree because it is beneficial to the students and has a positive effect on society. One of the reasons why free community duty should be compulsory for high school students is that it imbibes a sense of responsibility and structure, which is an essential component of development, in them. For example, in Japan, where unpaid neighbourhood involvement by students is presently enforced, 80% of the participants go on to become outstanding members of society who have excellent careers early on and contribute to nation-building. If high school age students are not exposed to such programmes as soon as possible, it may take a longer period to develop discipline and moral responsibility in comparison to those who are. Another reason why high school curriculum should introduce unpaid community service is that it builds important career skills such as team working and organizational skills. In addition, social networking abilities are also enhanced. This is going to prove valuable, in the future, when students transition into their professional journey. Finally, encouraging students in high school to participate in community service is a net positive for society. In other words, society is positively impacted when these students execute communal and not for profit services. For instance, younger children, via sports tutorship programmes, gain useful mentors which should guide them down the right part. This, particularly in low-income neighbourhoods, will foster well-rounded youngsters who will grow to become fine citizens and eschew negative tendencies. In conclusion, compulsory and not-for-profit communal service should be an essential part of programmes tailored to high schools because of its overall positive effects on the students and society.