In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Reading newspapers and the news on television screens are not activities which are popular, in various countries, amongst many young people. This is caused by the rigid structure of newspapers and news segments on TV as well as the absence of a social layer in these traditional news dissemination formats. Firstly, most young adults and teenagers grew up with a smartphone, which greatly influences the way they communicate and consume media. For example, a young person can listen to a recap of the daily news on a streaming site through his phone at any time, and this is mostly delivered in an informal way, whilst a newspaper column or TVbroadcast is usually formal and can only be viewed at specific times. This makes newspapers and TV news broadcasts a dull and rigid affair to young people. Secondly, with the advent of social media sites such as twitter, young people presently find it satisfying to engage other people online in spirited discussions about the latest breaking news. This proclivity towards instant social interaction around information, puts reading from a newspaper or watching the evening news on a TV screen at a major disadvantage. There are two effective solutions which will, if carefully implemented, encourage young people to follow the news via a newspaper or television set. Breaking down the formal structure of traditional media will enable young people to find common grounds with current habits, for instance, introducing colored pictures into newspapers or relaxing the formality in TV news broadcasts. In addition, introducing social media hashtags in newspaper editorials and TV news broadcasts will enable young people to engage in their communal habits. In conclusion, pulling down the current framework of newspapers and incorporating a digital social layer into television news bulletins will entice young people to follow the news through these platforms.