Children should not be forced to develop good penmanship since computers and other mobile devices have done away with the need for having good handwriting. What are your views on the subject?

I absolutely agree that with advancing technology the significance for good handwriting is depleting and typing has become essential as the growth of using mobiles and computers have expanded exponentially. In the essay I would be elaborating on 2 aspects, first half is how mobile usage is embedded in our daily lives and the second half is lack of emphasis on typing in school impacts children’s ability to be proficient in it. From the last decade, technology like mobile phones have been weaved into our everyday lifestyles and it is becoming quintessential for the children to adapt to it. Every task from ordering groceries to booking an appointment with a doctor revolves around the smartphone utilisation and to enable these tasks, typing is the format to input the commands for it to successfully performed. Children can’t just be acquainted rather should be confident using the devices and thriving to complete the tasks. Certain behaviours are observed such as children can efficiently navigate through the technological devices but can’t type the required tasks. However effortlessly using the smartphones haven’t been taught to the children in the schools rather writing is given higher weightage. There are continuous practise and writing periods have been allotted to the children in the school but the equal stress is not given to the computer usage. Overtime children tend to lack a productive way of utilising technology and devices. Children are unable to perfect the art of typing with accuracy and pose which leads to making errors later in life. For example - typo-error is a phenomenon seen in today’s world which is caused due to faulty typing skills. Therefore I believe, children have to be trained to implement proper command and appropriately use tech in their lives as well as sufficiently function in their future.