In many countries, women no longer feel the need to get married. Some people believe that this because women can earn their income and therefore not require financial security that marriage can bring. To what extent do you agree?

From the past years on it has become common to know women who choose to not get married, even in countries where marriage is traditional and highly expect from elderly parents. Besides the financial point, I truly believe women, especially from a young age, are finding out other ways of living out of the ordinary. Looking back the past century, many cultures were used to force their females to marry at their teens, and worse than that, to be with someone which they had never met before. Furthermore, it turned out into unhappiness and trauma, possibly causing issues in their relationship and consequently in family development. Moreover, the main (and most of the times the only) income was brought from men work, so their spouses could not leave the marriage as they would not sustain themselves and the little ones. Therefore, women just started gaining space in business after society growth, as a result, it allowed most of them to leave home and start making their own money, aiming financial security and independence, then, after all, some countries became fairer with women rights and their role in the world. Although, there is a range of human rights which must be analysed to improve feminine safety and growth. To sum up, as a woman I totally agree that most of us choose to be on our own instead of getting marriage mainly because of financial independence, but I also strongly believe we just do not aim it because we hear what our mothers and grandmothers had to go through and fortunately we are not forced to do it anymore.