The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the working week should be reduced so that individuals have more time to rest. The essay totally agrees with that statement. Indeed, longer weekends could allow workers to have better mental health. Furthermore, fewer days of work will result in better productivity and effectiveness. Having longer weekends will increase individuals’ well-being. A long working week can be very exhausting for them, physically as well as mentally. That can lead to negative feelings, such as anxiety or depression, and it can even lead to suicide. Thus, the number of daily labour should be reduced so that those who are hired by companies and organisations can be happier and more peaceful. For example, the Mitsubishi car fabric located in Yokohama, Japan, decided to add a rest day in 2023. It then noticed that the workers became happier and also that the workers’ suicide rates significantly decreased, going from 19% the year before to 4% in 2023. Moreover, longer weekends will provoke better effectiveness overall. Having fewer working hours means that those who work will be less tired. Hence, they will have more energy and motivation to achieve their tasks and will perform better. For instance, the German government decided to reduce the working week in 2019. A study conducted by Berlin University that year showed that the productivity of all German companies had gone 38% higher compared to the one from the year before, even though people only worked 4 days. In conclusion, a reduction of the hours of work will result in better mental health and an increased productivity of the individuals concerned. That is why most people agree with the fact that there should be fewer working days.