Taxing Industries, corporates and individuals based on their environmental footprint is the only way to save the environment. Do you agree with the statement? Give your opinion.

I believe that the world that we inhabit is on the gateway of peril, we human beings have endangered our planet through unnecessary exploitation. However, levying taxes on organisations will not rectify the situation and ultimately save our planet. Firstly, my essay will highlight how most powerful organisations can easily evade taxes and secondly, I will throw light upon the fact that there are several other means to this achievable end; which would be rather more effective. The crux of the matter here is that any organisation or major business house which creates a huge carbon footprint is very influential. Even though taxing money-making giants is a good way to create a fund to fight environmental problems, these companies value their reputation far too much to let their name be dragged in these issues. They will lawyer up almost immediately if charged with blame. For instance, recently a popular shipping company was incriminated for leaking oil into the coast of Mauritius, the firm immediately denied all claims. Furthermore, even though taxing wealthy individuals to create a foundation and equipping it with enough money to make a difference is a good way to start a war against climate change. I feel there are several more impactful methods which if applied with the right strategy will help us reverse the effects of the damage. I feel every country, community and individual needs to shoulder the responsibility of climate change, and start acting on it before it is too late. They say change begins at home and never before has it been more applicable. Every nation needs to devise rules and regulations to keep destruction at bay and let nature take its course to repair itself. Germany has recently announced that they will aim to become greenhouse gas neutral by 2050. To conclude, we must devise a plan in our individual capacity to rectify the situation we have put the world in. And there are several methods we can employ to fight the war together. Therefore, I disagree with the statement that taxing organisations and individuals is the only way to save the planet Earth.